Central Executive

In accordance with the representation of the People Act and the belief that the will of the people shall form the basis of Government in a democratic society, The Objects of the UDP are:

“to gain political influence and governmental control in order to direct and promote public policies which are consistent with respect for the principles of social justice. To promote the growth of a Belizean society in which all persons may, to the extent of their capacity, make positive contributions to the institutions of national life, and so develop and maintain due respect for lawfully constituted authority. To promote and respect the dignity of the human person and the equal and inalienable rights with which the Creator endows all members of the human family. To ensure, that at all times, the Nation of Belize shall enjoy those principles and beliefs enshrined in the Constitution of Belize.”

“excerpt from the Constitution of the United Democratic Party”

The Central Executive Committee is comprised of three classes of membership, all of whom shall enjoy equal rights, privileges, and responsibilities without regard to class of membership:

(i)         Elected members

The Central Executive Committee is comprised of:

(a) Immediate Past Leader and Rules Committee Chair – Sir Manuel Esquivel

(b) First Party Leader – Dean Lindo

(c) Party Leader – Dean Barrow

(d) The First Deputy Party Leader – Patrick Faber

(e) The Second Deputy Party Leader – Erwin Contreras

(f) The National Party Chairperson –  Alberto August

(g) The Vice-Chairperson –  Fern Gutierrez


(f)  Four Regional Leaders, each representing one of the four following regions of Belize, namely:-

(i) The Northern Region (Corozal and Orange walk Districts) – Pablo Marin

(ii) The Eastern Region (Belize District) – Anthony “Boots” Martinez

(iii) The Western Region ( Cayo District) – John Saldivar

(iv) The Southern Region (Stann Creek and Toledo Districts) – Eden Martinez


(ii)   Appointed members by the elected members of the Central Committee:

(a)    The Director of Women

(b)    The Director of Youth

(c) The National Campaign Manager / National Coordinator


(iii)       Former Party Leaders in good standing with the Party – Sir Manuel Esquivel, Hon. Dean Lindo